Parliament Approves Newly Nominated Ministers.

The Appointments Committee of Ghana’s Parliament was unable to reach a consensus in recommending the approval of the newly nominated Ministers by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, leading to a vote to decide their fate.

Following the vote, the Speaker of Parliament announced the results, stating that out of a register of 275 eligible voters, 3 voters were absent, leaving 272 who exercised their franchise. Unravel Katie Hammond received 154 Yes votes, 116 No votes, and 1 rejected vote. Bryan Acheampong received 167 Yes votes, 98 No votes, and 4 rejected votes, with 3 abstentions. Stephen Asamoah Boateng received 147 Yes votes, 122 No votes, and 3 abstentions. Mohammed Amin Adams received 152 Yes votes, 117 No votes, 1 rejected vote, and 2 abstentions. Osei Bonsu Amoah received 149 Yes votes, 120 No votes, and 3 abstentions, while Stephen Amoah received 146 Yes votes, 123 No votes, and 3 abstentions.

“The House has accordingly approved the nominations of the following persons as ministers and a deputy minister in accordance with 79(1) of the constitution,” said the Speaker of Parliament, announcing the results.

This means that Adansi Asokwa MP K.T Hammond will become the Minister of Trade and Industry, with Nhyiaeso MP Dr. Stephen Amoah serving as his deputy, and all other nominated ministers approved as well.

However, many Ghanaians have expressed their loss of trust in the Minority and the NDC for approving the six ministerial nominees to join an already bloated Akufo-Addo government. Over the weekend, the NDC and some of its notable personalities issued statements condemning the actions of some of its MPs. Former President John Mahama called out the few NDC MPs who supported the nominees and urged them to undertake serious soul-searching to learn what it means to be nationalistic.

The outcome of the vote has sparked further debate among Ghanaians about the role of the opposition and their responsibility to hold the government accountable. Despite the outcome, many hope that the new ministers will be committed to delivering on their mandate and serving the interests of the people.

Leave a Response